Directory

photo of Scott Kissau
Scott Kissau
Department Chair & Professor
COED 324D
704-687-0996
spkissau@uncc.edu

Scott Kissau (Ph. D., The University of Windsor, Ontario) is a Professor of Applied Linguistics, Director of the Master of Arts in Teaching Foreign Languages program, and Chair of the Department of Middle, Secondary, and K-12 Education. Dr. Kissau is recognized as an outstanding teaching. In 2011, he was the recipient of the College of Education Award for Excellence in Teaching. In 2015, Dr. Kissau was named the Higher Education Teacher of the Year by the Foreign Language Association of...


photo of Elonda Kinloch
Elonda Kinloch
Office Manager
COED 324
704-687-8877
ekinloch@uncc.edu


Adrienne Lee
Administrative Support Associate
COED 324
704-687-8878
alee12@uncc.edu


photo of Joyce Brigman
Joyce Brigman
Clinical Assistant Professor
COED 312F
704-687-8883
mjbrigma@uncc.edu


Bettie Ray Butler
Bettie Ray Butler
Associate Professor
COED 315
704-687-7098
bettie.butler@uncc.edu


Heather Coffey
Heather Coffey
Associate Professor
704-687-8875
COED 321B
hcoffey@uncc.edu


Photo of Hilary Dack
Hilary Dack
Assistant Professor
COED 312D
704-687-8888
hdack@uncc.edu
Curriculum Vitae

Hilary Dack (Ph.D., University of Virginia) joined the College of Education faculty in 2015 as an Assistant Professor of Middle Grades Education.  Her areas of specialization include differentiated instruction and high quality curriculum design in K-12 general education classrooms.  Her current research focuses on how teacher education programs prepare preservice and early career teachers to respond effectively to academic diversity.  She teaches introductory courses on lesson...


Kristin Davin
Assistant Professor
kdavin@uncc.edu


Warren DiBiase
Warren DiBiase
Associate Professor
COED 317B
704-687-8881
wjdibias@uncc.edu


Paul Fitchett
Paul Fitchett
Associate Professor & Program Director C&I Doctoral Program
COED 317D
704-687-0997
pfitchet@uncc.edu


Susan Harden
Susan Harden
Assistant Professor
COED 312C
704-687-8888 OPT 2
sharden@uncc.edu


Tina Heafner
Tina Heafner
Professor
COED 317
704-687-8875
theafner@uncc.edu


Charles Hutchison
Charles Hutchison
Professor
COED 317A
704-687-8885
chutchis@uncc.edu
Faculty Website


Jeanneine Jones
Jeanneine Jones
Professor
COED 312A
704-687-8875
jpjones@uncc.edu


Lan Quach Kolano
Lan Quach Kolano
Professor
COED 325
704-687-8713
lan.kolano@uncc.edu

Lan Quach Kolano is Professor of Education and the Graduate Program Director for TESL.  She completed her PhD at UNC Chapel Hill and has been on UNCC's faculty since 2004. Her research focuses on the language and identity development of immigrant learners and the development of critical multicultural efficacy of teachers. Dr. Kolano is currently working on an ethnographic project that examines and documents the experiences of Southeast Asian immigrant girls with limited formal education...


photo of Dr. Joan LaChance
Joan Lachance
Assistant Professor
COED 327
704-687-7889
jlachance@uncc.edu


Chance Lewis
Chance Lewis
Carol Grotnes Belk Distinguished Professor, Endowed Chair of Urban Education
COED 326
704-659-6842
chance.lewis@uncc.edu

Dr. Chance W. Lewis is the Carol Grotnes Belk Distinguished Professor of Urban Education and serves as Director of The Urban Education Collaborative at the University of North Carolina at Charlotte. He leads the urban concentration of the Ph.D. in Curriculum and Instruction. Dr. Lewis' special areas of interests are academic achievement of students of color in K-12 settings, recruitment and retention of Black male teachers and urban education. Dr. Lewis has over 100 refereed...


photo of Adam Myers
Adam Myers
Academic Advisor and Clinical Assistant Professor
COED 323B
704-687-6055
amyers35@uncc.edu


Teresa Petty
Teresa Petty
Associate Professor
COED 321A
704-687-0995
tmpetty@uncc.edu

Teresa M. Petty is an Associate Professor and Graduate Director for the Master of Arts in Teaching Program in the Department of Middle, Secondary, and K–12 Education at the University of North Carolina at Charlotte. Teresa’s teaching focuses on instructional design, teacher leadership, and mathematics methods. She has been teaching online courses for 10 years. Her research interests include online teaching/learning, particularly engagement in online courses, and National Board Certification...


Vanessa Regina
Administrative Support Associate
Center City
704-687-1508
vregina@uncc.edu


Spencer Salas
Spencer Salas
Associate Professor
COED 312B
704-687-8888 OPT 8
ssalas@uncc.edu
Curriculum Vitae

Spencer Salas, Ph.D., is Associate Professor in the Department of Middle, Secondary, and K-12 Education at The University of North Carolina at Charlotte where he leads the Ph.D. in Curriculum and Instruction Urban Literacies/TESL sub-concentration. An award-winning District of Columbia Public School ESL teacher (1994-2001), he has been a Fulbright Fellow to Romania (1998), Guatemala (2007), and South Africa (2013); a Senior English Language Fellow for the U.S. Department of State to Peru (...


Michelle Stephan
Michelle Stephan
Associate Professor
COED 312E
704-687-8875
mstepha1@uncc.edu

Dr. Michelle Stephan is an Associate Professor of Mathematics Education. She has a joint appointment in the Department of Middle/Secondary Mathematics and the Mathematics Department at UNC Charlotte. She taught middle school mathematics in Florida for seven years before joining the College of Education. She teaches middle and secondary mathematics methods classes and provides extensive professional development to teachers in Cabarrus and Kannapolis County. Her research interests include...


Greg Wiggan
Greg Wiggan
Associate Professor
COED 314
704-687-8627
gwiggan@uncc.edu
Faculty Website